Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s world, with respect to increasing impact of media, role of celebrities in societies is of vital importance. A controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether famous people are more important to younger people compared to older people. Some people possess the conviction that this argument is true, whereas others hold the opposite view and allege that the importance of well-known people is equal for all individuals. I personally contend that young men and women pay more attention to celebrities than mature people. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraghs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that from a psychological point of view, as people grow and become mature, they pay less heed to others. In other words, they concentrate on themselves rather than others to grow their personality in manifold fields. For instance, they exert their efforts to learn more skills contributing to elevation of occupational positions. Mature people do not have too much time to waist by pursuing celebrities in social media. The noteworthy statistics revealed by recent social research conducted in our country, show that approximately 70 percent of people with the age of 35 to 45 know less celebrities than young people between 15 and 25 years old.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that younger people are rely more on emossions and excitements rather than rational and knowledge. Therefore, famous people, particularly people who are widely in media, can easily stimulate them. In order to make this point more clear, consider my personal experience. When I was child, I adored a well-known soccer player, namely David Beckham. He was my idol. I did anything to become similar to him. I collected a large number of his photos. Besides, I attempted to immitate him in playing. Nowadays, although I am interested to him, I do not pay crazy attention to every work or quates about him.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that celebrities play a key role in societies, however, they have low influence on older people than young people.