Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

There is always controversy as to whether the ability to make a lot of friends is better or the ability to keep friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time. Some people believe that all of us should have several friends and having many friends help us live in a better way. In contrast, there are a great number of people who insist on thoroughly opposite idea. Personally, I subscribe to the idea that the ability to protect friendships with a small group of close friends is more important. In what follows, I will elaborate my point of view.

First of all, it is generally agreed that old friends are more reliable. All of us have a group of old friends who are helping us in hard situations of our life. Since old friends are more intimate with each other, they more take care of each other. Moreover, whenever and wherever you need them they come to help you. However, when a person has a lot of friends he cannot account on each of them because most of them are not sympathetic to him. For instance, my father has an old friend and their friendship goes back to twenty years ago. They help each other unconditionally and without any exception. If you do not know they are friends, you will feel they are brothers because they act like brothers to each other. Therefore, it seems obvious that a small group of old friends is more beneficial.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that you can spend better time with your old friends. Thanks to a long friendship, old friends have a lot in common; therefore, they can spend their free time with each other and enjoy. Furthermore, when you are boring, always your old friend is the first person that comes to your mind to call him or her because you know that they will never reject your demand and they are best persons for hanging out with you. Besides, recent studies illustrate that people who have more in common feels more convenient when they spend time with each other. Thus, having more common ethics help people to have a better feeling with each other.

In conclusion, the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people is one of the most important parts of every people life. Old friends are more reliable and make you feel better; thus maintaining them close to you has paramount importance.