Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily

Friendship has a myriad benefits for human beings which accumulative of its benefits could result in happiness. Some people find happiness in old friendships since they consider these kinds of friends reliable in different situations as well as enjoy the created sympathy with their friends. However, other people do not confine the benefits of friendship just to an old type of it and also see extra benefits through having new friends dynamically, including obtaining new experience and matching their friends with their up-to-date criteria. In my vantage point, the capability for finding new friends outweighs the ability of keeping long-time friendships in that not only new friends open new windows for each other, but also they meet each other's demands based on their latest period of life.

First point which is of paramount importance is that there is a meaningful correlation between the diversity of shared experiences and the number of people who gather together. Every individual has a specific story which has been captured during his/her journey in life. Creation of new connections with new friends, bring their backgrounds and many useful experiences to our lives. These potential achievements could not be found easily by limiting the connections to a limited number of friends since every person has a main focus on a specific field. In contrast, having diverse friends have a wider range of knowledge. For example, some people do not confine themselves to their university classmates and find new friends from other fields and due to this, their knowledge is more diversified.

Furthermore, people change during their lives and their attitudes change to everything such as the type of personalities that prefer to have friends. In this case, people who are able to find new friends, will be more satisfied since they could have new friends who are as much compatible as possible with their ideals. For example, some people do not get married ever, but some people create a family. People who live in the format of family, will be more satisfied if they have friends who they also have a family to connect members of family with each other -children and wifes/husbands- which finally increase happiness.

In conclusion, there is compelling evidence which makes sense that the ability for finding new friends could be more effective from the happiness viewpoint.