Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In all eras, people need to live in a group and have a relationship with others, so it can help to their life in society and mental health. In the recent decade, people may feel more need to connect with others; this is because people have to work most of their time, so they prefer to have friends to spend their free time with them. I believe that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness. I feel this way because of two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, old friends can be more reliable, which is a crucial subject in people's life. People may face some problems and experience some sadness and depression; thus they need a trustworthy person who can listen to their emotions and help them to move on and be happy. Obviously, a long period of time can cause people to know their people around well, so they can trust them without any concern. For instance, I have an old friend, we are friends for eleven years, who is a reliable friend to me. I had some mental problems, and I felt some depression, therefore I need someone who can understand me and also be trustworthy. Subsequently, I could speak to her peacefully, which had a positive influence on my mind and mood.

Secondly, Old friends can be good advisers, who are helpful in our personal life. All people are located in a specific situation, that they have to make a decision. Therefore, they need a person to consult with them and guide them to make the best decision. Needless to say, it is important consulting with a person who knows us and our situation very well, because their advice can be suitable more. Hence, old friends can be familiar with us more and better, so they can be good advisers according to our personality and situation. Pay attention to my old friend that I mentioned before as an example, she knows my personality very well. A boy requested me to be my boyfriend, so I was in doubt to accept or not, so I decided to ask my friend and consult with her.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a long period of time friendships is more important for happiness. This is because old friends are more reliable, which can help us to relax. In addition, old friends can be good advisers, which can be helpful in our personal life.