Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: The ability to maintaining friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to many new friends easily.

It is crystal clear that communication with friends plays an important role in humans' life and their happiness. Many people strongly hold the opinion that communication with a small group of people over a long time is a much more crucial factor in happiness than being capable of making new friends. I, personally speaking, agree with this opinion. The reasons to substantiate my view are elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, communication with old friends is very easier than making new friends. Old friends often know each other really well, and are familiar with each other's characteristics in depth. Therefore, they often feel relaxed when they meet. For instance, I have a friend, whom I have known for fifteen years. Whenever I see him, I talk about my emotions and convey my feelings easily. This help me to be happy and forget all my negative feelings. In addition, because he has a deep knowledge about my attributes due to long term communication, he is able to behave in such a way that I become very relaxed and calm. I behave in this way because he already knows my background and observed different occurrences which happened in my life, and never judges me. I cannot talk about my deep emotion to my new fiends, even if I have a lot of them.

Secondly, a critical factor in happiness is being able to rely on a friend, which obviously occurs among old friends more than new ones. When people interact with each other for a long time, they can understand their characteristics and their capacity of being reliable. In a long term friendship when friends find themselves trustable, they become a real family. My own experience can clearly demonstrate this. When I entered the university, I make so many new friends. Simultaneously, I met with my old friend there. Once I had a personal problem. I spoke to one of my new friends about it. He did not help me at all. Instead, he revealed my problem. I was really upset there, because I thought that he was a reliable man. In that time, my old friend told me that he was my brother, and helped me to solve that. This experience taught me that I should interact with a friend for a long time before I trust them.

To conclude, having considered mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that to be a happy human, having friends and communicate with them for a long time is more important than making new friends. This is because communicating with old friends is easier, and old friends are more reliable.