Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: The ability to write well is more important than that of speaking?

What is supposed to be the major elements that make up one’s overall quality? The answer lies in those essential skills that anyone who dreams of a bright future ought to be equipped with. Among these abilities, both speaking and writing are to be emphasized. A general controversy rises up when the two are presented together. Some people attach great importance to speaking than writing, while others hold the opposite attitude. In my view, speaking is no less important than writing.

On the one hand, a competent speaker is able to communicate to others with ease. Thus, understanding can be achieved, and the circle of friendship can be broadened and strengthened. The careful choice of words while speaking helps determine one’s communication abilities. No one wishes to make friends with those who are poor at speaking. In most cases, improper remarks may considerably hurt others’ feelings. Therefore, in order to be welcomed by others, it is imperative to improve one’s oral expressions. For example, my roommate Linda used to be a bad speaker. For the first two years in college, she had very few friends and led a lonely life. As soon as she realized the importance of speaking, she chose to enroll on a relevant training course. Her efforts finally paid off. Before graduation, she boasted a large number of close friends.

On the other hand, the significance of a person’s writing ability also is mentioned. Excellent writing skills do not merely ensure one’s academic and professional success, but also help produce far-reaching influences in society, maybe even making history. To illustrate, for students, good writing ability helps them obtain high marks on the examination paper. For graduate students, completing a satisfactory thesis means they will be granted a dream academic degree or reward. For a white-collar worker, having the competence to draft articles may be an important steppingstone leading toward promotion and career success. As for professional writer, their popular works record essences of history and might be regarded as milestones for an age. For example, we may cite the story of Lu Xun, who compared the pen to a weapon. By expressing his sharp viewpoints about society, he made the world aware of the social reality of the time. The same is true with any other masterpieces to be eternally cherished and memorized.

In conclusion, there should be no prejudice against either of these two basic skills. As long as our society continues to progress, the demand for talent in comprehensive skills will be on the rise. Both speaking and writing abilities are critical to one’s overall development and each one deserves our ever-lasting attention.