Some people believe that all the nations should use taxes to fund universities so that they could offer free university education to any student. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, our society has witnessed the unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, and more and more people attach great importance to education. In this regard, a general controversy arises. Some people advocate that the government should divert a large amount of money deriving from taxes to the university education to make it free to all students. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, allocating excessive money to universities just in order to reduce the tuition of students will grind down the overall quality of teaching and research. As we all know, the teaching quality of a professor is highly associated with the number of students in a class. If the universities open their doors to all students, the classrooms will be too crowded to let teachers pay enough attention to every student. Needless to say, this proposal will curtail the possibility of promoting the teachers to educate students in accordance with their aptitude. Moreover, it is also the professors' responsibility to conduct research and write scientific papers. With too many students packed in a school, they will no longer have enough time to do research and thus the academic performance and discoveries of a university will also be curbed. My business professor is a prime example of this point. One semester, he started a course about organizational behavior and more than 100 students enrolled in that class. Too many students in a classroom talk with others and laugh loudly during class, distracting him significantly while delivering the lecture. Besides, he had to utilize a large amount of time to correct students’ assignments, leaving no time for academic activities.

In addition, free education may not deliver benefits to students and make them study harder. Most time, all of the students need to study assiduously and participate in some examinations to enter a university. In some countries, a better education means higher tuition. Sometimes, although students may come from poverty-stricken families, they can still gain scholarships to pay for the expensive tuition and continue their studies. In this way, real talents can be selected. If all the universities are free to the public, some students may not be motivated to study hard since no matter how their grades are, they are still granted the chance to enter a university. Meanwhile, it will also be more inefficient to find out students who are passionate about academics and research since they no longer endure pressure to stand out so as to gain grants. It is investigated that money is not the main reason for quitting an educational program in terms of students who are in universities rather than in primary schools and high schools. And sometimes, though students have to pay for costly tuition, money can be the stimulus to push them to study industriously.

Admittedly, free universities also can be beneficial to students under certain circumstances. Students can ease their financial burden when they are perusing their academic dreams. However, it is also unavoidable that the deficiencies can trigger some negative outcomes as listed above and we should think more thoroughly when discussing this problem.

In a nutshell, although knowledge is priceless, the tickets to the ship of education also need to be paid for. On no accounts should we ignore the adversities of free education, and it is too rash to label free universities as a superior choice.