Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people say that history courses are important to the student as they teach them about the past and provide them with deep knowledge about historical achievements, so all students should take a course related to history. However, I do not agree with that stance and believe that students should not be forced to take a history course for three reasons.

First of all, an extra course which is not related to the main subject of a student background can make a student demotivated as it is an additional course that the student has to pass to get their final degree. For example, a doctoral student, who is struggling with his departmental courses, labs, practical study, and so on can feel demotivated if he fails in the history course which is not related to his doctoral degree. On the other hand, all the students who have passed from the same doctoral background in the past, have faced less stress as they had to take a course less than the present student. By giving the present students an extra burden of a history course, it can demotivate them and can force them to leave their study without completing.

Second of all, a history course has no purpose in the job market and any time spend in the subject will be futile. For example, in the present job market, HR officers look for students who have extra knowledge like software skills, basic and practical knowledge in the core subjects and do not care about any knowledge on history. So, a student who will has less subject to study will find additional time to increase their skill by learning software or doing some practical work and can increase their chances of getting a job.

Finally, taking an extra subject will increase the cost of study and it will demotivate some students to leave their study. An extra subject will need an extra teacher, an additional classroom which in turn will increase the tuition fees and will force some students to leave their studies. For example, in my country, a few years back government had set a rule that all students in class 5 or above must have a personal computer at their personal expense. A computer in my country cost a lot of money and for that reason, a third of students had left their study. After recognizing the mistake, the government immediately removed the rules which then motivated the old student to join their courses.