Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Truth is the quality of speaking, saying or implying the right detail of an event or the actual answer to a question asked. Some might argue that telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. But others would state that there are several other more valuable considerations in the relationship with people. After weighing all the evidences, it is clear that, truth is secondary in consideration. Trust, Loyalty and a number of qualities are more important consideration in relationships.

For example, in the relationship between a husband and a wife, Trust is the most important thing. The partner needs to know that he/she can’t suffer any intentional harm of any form from his/her significant other, whether physical, emotional or psychological. The wife needs to know that the husband would not physically abuse her, the husband needs to know that the wife would not cheat on her. The certainty of safety with your partner is of paramount importance. This might even mean that your partner lying to you, but you trust that in such a scenario, you know that it is safer for you to be ignorant of the truth.

Like the example of Trust cited above, Loyalty is another important consideration than truth. A country at war, needs the loyalty of it’s armed forces. Without that, there would be instability, and periodic plans of coups. The commander needs the loyalty of his soldiers, to enable him be at peace and focus on protecting his country from external attack, rather than internal attack. In the absence of loyalty, effort is channeled into curbing the rise of various factions, instead of protecting the sovereign country as a whole. An armed force that is plagued with dissatisfied and contemptuous soldiers, would be so easy to be vanquished, in any attempt to go into battle with another sovereign country. Thus loyalty is paramount to military men. In cases, where you even have spies assigned to several countries, they are expected to not be truthful, some times they are expected to commit some crimes, as long as it serves the geater good of protecting the country.

Those who state that, truth is the most important consideration might mention case of swearing in ceremony for the president of a nation, where he is required to take an oath of office. But, in matters of national securities such as a terrorist attack or epidemic, such office holder is required to hide the truth from the public, if such truth is going to cause more havoc to the nation. For example telling people that, there is a disease in the country when corrective measure are not in place might increase the spread of such diseases.

As evidenced with the example of a romantic couple and the armed forces of a sovereign nation, it is clear that, truth is not the most important consideration in any relationship between people.