Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way for parents to teach children about responsibility is to have them care for an animal.

Raising children is the most important concern of parents. Besides, parents have difficulties how to teach valuable lesson about life such as responsibility, loyalty and honesty. Therefore, when it comes to the question whether it is the best to tach children how to be responsible is to have them care for a pet, different people adopt different attitudes toward to this question depending on their characters and educational backgrounds. On the one hand there are people who adhere to the belief that taking care of a pet will an appropriate task to teach a child how to be a responsible person; on the other hand, others believe that there are other effective ways to teach a person responsibility such as doing household chores or purchasing daily foods. As far as I am personally concerned, the latter carries further weight since not only does these tasks need more physical and mental skills but also does these tasks are more worthwhile for the rest of their life.

Doing affairs which parents usually do will encourage children to do them carefully. In fact, children usually tend to imitate the role of their parent when they are playing with their counterparts. Then, parents can teach them how to be responsible by asking them to do chores such as cleaning their rooms, washing dishes or cutting grass. In other words, children will think that they have grown up since they are doing their parents’ tasks. For instance, I remember when I was child my father always gave me money to buy bake from bakery near our house. At first I think he is not good father but know I understand that he would teach me that I should be aware of what a family need for a daily life. Subsequently, children will not become a responsible person, unless they do household chores.

In addition, household tasks are always involved with different mental and physical activities. In fact, cleaning a room requires a child to burn calories and utilize his muscles or designing a room forces children to use their imagination. In other words, it will increase their physical and mental activities resulting in becoming mature sooner. I remember, when I was a child my mother asked me to wash dishes after that I was very hungry and ate more than usual time. Consequently, parents will also assist children to become mature while teaching them responsibility by asking them to do household chores.

All in all, doing chores is more beneficial than taking care of pet since not only is it involved physical and mental activities but also does it encourage children to do them carefully. If I were a mother, I ask my children to do chores to teach them responsibility.