Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the last couple of decades, governments around the world support financially the sports teams of their countries on many occasions such as the Olympiad and the world cup for basketball and football. However, the financial support of kinds of arts is at its lowest level. personally, I believe that governments should support the arts in their countries for many reasons. In the following paragraphs, my opinion, and my reasons are going to be clarified with examples and explanations.

First of all, when the government supports the arts with all its fields, this supports are affect directly the artists. such as, the government can help artists by facilitating holding exhibitions and encourage people to visits this kind of exhibition. All of these actions would increase the percentage of the selling process of the paintings and sculptures which will help the artists financially and encourage them to focus on their arts and do not care about financial support. So by supporting the art fields in the country, the government actually supports a slice of the community.

Secondly, through all centuries, arts used to consider as the mirror of the civilization of any nation. when the development of the nation reach the apex, the arts in this nation would always show this development and the civilization . for instance, the civilization in Italy during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries had culminated and this improvements of all fields in Italy from engineering to medicine was noticeable in the arts which include the painting and sculptures of the Italian artists. another example is when the ancient Egypt civilization reached its pinnacle the arts show how much their civilization had made progress. So with the increasing of the civilization of any country the arts and supporting of this field should also increase significantly.

Thirdly, arts are not less important than sports and countries always should specify parts of their budget on supporting arts and artists. because by supporting this field we guarantee that the next generation will open their eyes to the aesthetic field and world.

In conclusion, always the country should support the artists by holding exhibitions and taking care of the museum.