Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

We are living in a complex world, Information Age. In this era where knowledge is the key to survival, there are many students who hold the idea that learning many facts as much as possible might be beneficial for them. Personally, I believe that having a whole understanding of ideas and concepts might broaden their view about what is happening around. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, ideas an concepts are important in formal education. In other words, when students are not able to learn the ideas and concepts behind the education, they won`t be apt to have fully understanding about facts. An example of mine might help to illustrate that. When I was in University, physic subject was my weakness and I could not understand the concepts at all. Every time that I was requested to solve a physic problem, I used to look at resolution before I start to work on it. As you can see, missing basic ideas and concepts gave me an insecurity to solve physic problems.

Secondly, the propose of schools is to prepare students for full participation in society. To hold a job and be part of community, learners need ideas and concepts even more than they need facts. For example, if someone studies to become a petroleum engineer, it is not enough to learn where the oil is. Petroleum engineers should have an idea of what it feels like to be in a platform and all the variable, responsibility and safety that are involved in this field before they can actually be trusted to work with that.

To sum it up, skills and concepts are the most important thing a student must learn so they might have a better understanding about facts. Not only because a fully comprehension of ideas and concepts might be essential during their school life but it also will be good in their insertion in society.