Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, we live in an increasingly complex world, remarkable for the continually changes over the world of the information and technology. For that reason, some people believe that students must learn many facts ass possible, but I disagree with this idea. I am of the conviction that it is better that students learn concepts and ideas for two reasons. First, it is the first step to understand a fact. Second, it gives the students the opportunity to enhance different skills.

First and foremost, modern education encourages students to understand concepts instead of memorizing some facts. For instance, since the last year one of the most important universities in Peru, changed their format of admission exams in order to assess the criteria and the excellent use of different concepts and ideas of all subjects. In this way, it is essential that teachers could explain in class not only relevant historical facts but also discuss different concepts extensively for the deep understanding of the subjects.

Another point to consider relevant is that students enhance a string of academic and professional skills. That`s because they can discuss and debate different topics in base on a set of concepts about any fact that they need to explain. For example, some scientifical studies show that the students who study all their subject based on ideas and concepts increase in 15% the probability to be better professionals than their peers. In this way, it is utmost important that schools encourage this kind of education in order to shape quality professionals.

In sum, the practice of teaching concepts and improving different student'skills are better than memorize facts. This new era is very competitive, and we as adults have the responsibility to te teach our children the importance of learning ideas and concepts because these are the cornerstone of a good education.