Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, advertising is necessary since it helps companies to increase their profits. Personally, I think that commercials are misleading and make products look better than they really are. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To start with, commodities often advertised by celebrities whom we admire and believe. It is in our nature to imitate the actions of famous people because we consider them more successful and knowledgeable than ourself. However, the general public can be trapped when trusting the prises of renowned individuals. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I have immensely dry skin and always search for new remedies that can help me to relieve my irritation. Recently, I saw a video on the Internet where one of my favorite actresses promoted a new cream, which allegedly has helped a myriad of people like me. Without extra research, I decided to give it a shot and purchased a tube in a local store. I was disappointed to find out that the cream was not an outstanding one, but contained the same ingredients as the majority of available lotions. Not only that, but it had a terrible smell, which could not be appreciated by anyone. That is why in my opinion, commercials with celebrities are deceptive.

Secondly, the main goal of any business is to increase sales and in order to do this, manufacturers often hide the disadvantages of their products from consumers. In advertisements they describe the benefits of an item but stay silent about its flaws. For instance, a few days ago I came down with cold and had to visit a doctor. On my way to a clinic, I saw a huge banner advertising a new syrup to treat the illness. The text describing the advantages of this medicine was in bold and vivid and said that it could ease symptoms such as a runny nose and cough. However, the information about the drug`s side effects was on the very bottom of the banner and was written in a fine print that I could barely see. This example illustrates how producers of goods in commercials can trick consumers.

To conclude, I strongly believe that advertisement can be misleading and people should be careful when listening to them. This is because famous people often take part in commercials, and because companies hide drawbacks of their commodities.