Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Decision making is a crucial ability in everyone's life. Sometimes even one decision can turn one's life upside down. While others may think that young people nowadays can make their own decisions better, I personally believe that teenagers are more dependent to their parents that they were in the past, or at least they should be. I have two main reasons for my opinion:

First, parents have experience, something that can not be acquired easily. Since decision making requires a wide-variety of knowledge, and experience is the best way to know and learn something, parents, who have fairly more experience than their young children, can be a great source of knowledge. For instance, I always go to my father when it comes to financial matters, I can see that my father is a successful man in managing his finances, because he started with almost nothing and now he has achieved a great amount of financial success. He always gives me a lot of useful information about how to keep track of the money I'm using, or what to invest on. I know I can easily rely on his opinions because he has achieved them through experiencing different paths. So as you can see, experience plays an important role in decision making, and young people don't have any.

Second, there are a wider variety of possible future for a child nowadays than there was before. By saying that, I mean that a modern teenager has to choose between more options for his/her future that someone who lived in the past. So decision making is harder than it was before. For example, Imagine a little girl living in a small village where everyone is a farmer, this girl will probably be a farmer in her adulthood. Now imagine a child living in the present. He can potentially be anything, a surgen, a developer, a pharmacist, a poet, anything. Since there are a lot of possibilities, decision making becomes more difficult. This means that children will need more help to choose the path in which their success is better gauranteed. That's the reason that teenagers nowadays need their parents help more that children in the past did.

In conclusion, decision making requires more assistance. young people nowadays are more dependent to their parents because not only they can user their parent's experience, but also they can use their help in choosing between countless paths in front of them. Every teenager should go to their parents to learn how to make decisions for his/her life.