Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

There is no little doubt that human's characteristic is changing gradually and is making progress in many aspects in compare with those who used to live many centuries ago. One of the most significant changes which has been occurred in last years, is that young people's dependency on their parents has been dramatically reduced. This phenomenon has several reasons from my vantage point. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on my perspective.

The most exquisite point to be mentioned is that education gradually made children wiser than their illiterate parents. They could grow their knowledge in many fields which could come in use in their personal lives for making decisions. To shed light on this, let me come up with an example. When my aunt wanted to start studying in the university, my grandfather used to insist her on choosing biology for her major. Although, based on some personality test, she had understood that studying engineering is a better choice for her. So she started studying engineering, regardless of my grandfather's interest and eventually she became a really successful person in her field of study and research while before her, other children used to follow their father's interest due to the lack of knowledge.

Another equally important fact to be considered is that in the past young people used to start their carrier based on their parents' one. In this situation, they used to follow their parents' way and start working beside them and being paid by them. In such a case, their parents were also their employee who used to deprive them of the opportunity to become independent in making decisions. My father's experience is a compelling example of this, he started farming beside my grandfather when he was only 18 years old, then, when he wanted to marry, my grandfather forced him to marry someone that he did not used to love. He just accepted this due to the fact that nerveless they might have loosed his job. But that marriage was not a successful and ended with divorce 4 years later.

Admittedly, parents still can have very crucial role in their children's lives, they can lead them to grow their social abilities in order to become successful in the society, they can encourage them to find better jobs and they can make them aware of the benefits and disadvantages of their choice. Statistics show that children who use their parents’ advises in their lives are 60% more successful than those who do not. This is of course due to the fact that parents are the best one who knows their children’s personality and care about their improvement most.

All in all, I contend in the past, young people used to be too dependent on their parents than today, in spite of the fact that this could adversely affect their lives. This seems to have been due to the lack of knowledge or job independency which used to lead them follow what their parents wanted and ignore their own desire. However, nowadays parents can lead their children in the better way, in which they still have sufficient space for making decisions for them-selves.