Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Computer games are increasingly evolving through our lives and vastly taking over other types of entertainment. Meanwhile, the number of children engaging in video-games is increasing each passing day. Some people believe that playing video games is a waste of time, and children should not be permitted to involve in such activities. In the upcoming paragraphs, I try to explain how their reasoning is not justified, and not only computer games waste time, but they have significant advantages for children, which will be discussed.

First, children learn a lot by playing video games. Computer games are usually designed in order to demonstrate important events of history, forecasting the future world in space contexts, or even scientific games depicting the natural world and its implications. Kids who play games regularly are most likely to possess immense knowledge regarding the story and the context of the games they play. For example, back in elementary school, I used to play "Spor," which is a scientific game, displaying the evolving process of organisms throughout the initiation of the world. The game starts in an ocean environment, and only a single-cell organism can be seen. As the game continues, the player's responsibility is to develop the earlier organisms into more complex creatures and, at last, creating human beings and their settlements. The mentioned game helped me realize many of the rules applying to evolution, which provided me with better knowledge in biology, leading to better biology grades in school. As a result, I firmly believe that children can improve their knowledge and experience by playing video games, which can teach scientific facts and details far better than any other educational materials.

Second, by playing video games, juveniles can make new friends and become more sociable from an early age. Nowadays, online computer games gain access to an infinite world with an enormous number of players worldwide. Children who play computer games, especially online computer games, can easily reach other kids and start communicating with them. Though at first glance, this friendship may seem childish and not lasting, kids will improve their social skills, and there is a higher chance for them to find friends who are similar, and mutual interests between them exist. For instance, research conducted by the psychology department of Tehran university has found that children who play computer games are more capable of interacting with strangers since they learned the ability to communicate with other people in a gaming context. It has also made clear that shy kids who are not yet able to flourish their sense of sociability can improve their social knowledge by playing video games anonymously.

To conclude, I believe that gaming is becoming accepted by communities as an act of harmless useful entertainment, and children should not be left out of such a beneficial opportunity. Games help young children to learn more about the world by performing actions and observing details in the games and improve their social skills, which is crucial for the complex interacting world of now. Besides, playing video games is fun, and spending time on gaming reduces anxiety and stress. Computer games are now becoming an essential part of our daily lives and should not be neglected.