Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Preserving the environment is the responsibility of the government of each country.

Provide a well-supported opinion that includes details and examples to explain why you think governments should or should not be responsible for preserving the environment.

Nowadays, environmental issues are at the center of the public interest. Some assert that it is the responsibility of citizens to preserve the environment, others consider governments in charge. I, personally, believe that maintaining the natural resources is mainly upon governments for two major reasons, which will be discussed in the following essay.

To begin with, only governments have resources which are required to save the environment. Preserving the environment is a complicated process which requires a considerable amount of money, experienced specialists, and access to big data. It is impossible for ordinary people to enforce these requirements. What people can do is nothing more than precautionary actions regarding nature. Some debate that even such actions need governmental education of people. On the other hand, as mentioned above, governments have all the requisite means for preserving the environment. For instance, the Brazilian government is the unique entity in the world which can save the Amazon forest. The government has the money for it, access to the best environmentalists in the country, and historical and spatial data for saving the forest.

Secondly, just governments have the authority that is necessary for saving nature. In most environmental cases, the intervention for saving nature requires legitimacy and regulation. For instance, listing lands as national resources for extra protection, establishing a hunting prohibition in an area, passing related laws, and fining offenders of the environmental laws. If governments use their authority leverages for saving nature, they will succeed. Other efforts, including public contribution in the matter, without governmental backups are doomed to failure since they do not have enough power.

All in all, I am of the opinion that governments are responsible to save nature. This is because they have the resources and power which are the principles for preserving the environment.