Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is indisputable that teachers play a pivotal role in transferring knowledge to new generations. However, it is claimed that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Personally, agree with this for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, advanced technologies have contributed to the availability of many substantial sources of education rather than teachers. Learners no more ultimately depend on teachers for gaining appropriate education. Not to mention, they can attain a certificate in a specific field by enrolling in a digital course, that entitles recorded lectures and online examinations. For example, due to the covid -19 situation, all students were forced to stay in quarantine. Since it was not convenient for them to attend classes and interact with their teachers, they were required to do research papers on all subjects with the help of various internet resources to graduate. This altered the viewpoint of learners to educators. Students concluded that teachers can be replaced with a wide variety of resources. On the contrary, in the past, learners were obliged to attend classes in person and were acquired their degrees based on their class attendance and interaction. This interaction was valued by the learners who believed that their educators are the only certified source of education.

Second, the wages of teachers have changed the way people perceive teachers. To be specific, teachers are not paid well nowadays. Unlike football players, media entertainers, celebrities whose salaries are skyrocketing. For this reason, people value these people more than teachers. Accordingly, new generations see these celebrities and football players as role models because of their highly paid jobs. If teachers were paid as much as them, young youth would have higher perceived them. On the other hand, teachers in the past were paid well enough to afford their living expenses and luxuries. For example, my father was a teacher in the 1980s. He would earn well enough that we could live in a big house, and travel every year to Europe. On the contrary, my husband who works as a high school teacher nowadays, can’t afford the living expenses anymore. Thus, he had to work an extra job to be able to cover the financial expenses of our family. For this reason, learners don’t view teachers as valued and appreciated members of society.