Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than they are nowadays

The position of teachers is now on heated debated. While teachers obviously play a part in one's education, some people say that their importance are decreasing in the public's eye. I agree that teachers do not have as high esteem as they used to in the past for the following reasons.

First of all, less appreciation is attributed to teachers as there are more sources of knowledge nowadays. In the past, books were rare and hard to access. People mainly obtained knowledge from their teachers, who not only conveyed information but also gave instruction on which reference materials to read among millions of books. However, the advent of internet and search engine has facilitated human's self-study process. People can learn almost anything from the Internet, where there are abundant of learning resources as well as study guide. Therefore, teachers are not as essential and hence as much valued as they used to be in the past. For example, during my mother's childhood, teachers were one of the most highly respected career in the society. Whenever she needed to know more deeply or widely about the subject, she would come to her teacher to ask for answers for her questions or advice on which reference book in the library to consult. However, nowadays, whenever my brothers has an academic problem, he would turn to Google search at first. He choice of reading materials also usually depends on reviews on the Internet instead of teacher's one. Obviously, the role of teacher in one's study is not as cherished as they were years ago.

In addition, the society also loses respect of teachers because of the materialism trend. Those transmitting knowledge is nowadays not as much admired as businesspeople who made billions of Dollars. Surveys have shown that the majority of young adults in today's world think much more highly of and billionaires, who actually create wealth, than their teachers, who used to be one of most inflated in the past. Moreover, due to the materialism, some teachers resort to extreme behaviors, which creates bad image of teachers in the society. An illustration is my brother's Literature teacher in his grade eight. Since the salary is not high enough for her to afford a proper living, she forced her students to attend her tutoring class outside the schools to earn an extra amount. Anyone who did not join the class would definite receive low score at formal class, no matter how well he or she performed in the exam. Her action has contributed to growing teachers' infamy these days. It seems that materialism has led to a decline in the society's respect of teachers.

In conclusion, I believe that teachers used to be more recognized and valued in the past than they do at present. To my view, teachers should exert efforts to improve themselves to regain their reputation while the government should take measures to adjust society's attitude to teachers.