Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

People debate intensively about whether teachers are not valued and appreciated as is used to be. In my opinion, I agree that teachers nowadays are thought of as normal people instead of the symbol of always being right. So, I will explore two main reasons that caused this situation.

First of all, teachers in the past have salaries higher than average, however, recently lots of jobs earn

more money than teachers. Though it is not absolutely correct to judge a job with its salary, it is inevitable that people in modern society consider the more money earned, the higher is the social status. For example, my aunt and uncle are both teachers, and they deeply feel that they are not so valued by society due to their stable but not high salaries. Furthermore, they are even jealous if someone has a higher salary. In short, people don't treat them as they are someone mighty anymore because of the money they earn.

Secondly, it is due to the rapidly developing online sources that are available for all the people that cause teachers' status to decrease. Evidently, even students are capable of using their devices to search for relative information online, the importance of teachers' existence is at risk. Moreover, students will even challenge their teachers' lectures with the data obtained from online websites. For instance, I have once suggested that my teacher's knowledge about a specific topic be wrong. Although at first, she disagrees with my point of view, however, one of my classmates proved my point to be right according to some article online.

In conclusion, it is convincing to say that teachers no longer have such high social standards as that in the past. This is because of how people think about salary these days and the attainability of online information.