Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

In the progressive and sophisticated world where we live in, teachers play an important role in every society. It is a highly debated that whether they were more valued by society in the past rather than they are today or not. Personally, I believe that teachers are less appreciated today for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, technology and social media has weakened teachers value in the last decades. To be more specific, Internet or websites and social media such as YouTube has a lot of science information that would decrease the need to the teachers. Today many students prefer surfing the Internet and websites instead of learning from teachers. Not only it helps them to approach information much easier, it also helps them save money by pushing the barriers of spending money to the teachers. Consequently, it decrease teachers value and affect their place in the society.

secondly, governments claims this statement with considering low salaries for teachers. The less salary proposed to teachers, the less value they earn in the society.

In other words, people who choose to be teacher will change their mind when they find out about the low quantity of salary they will get from the government. For instance, a friend of mine wanted to be a teacher since he was a kid. It was his childhood dream and when he became a teacher, it was like his dream came true. But after just a few months he changed his mind and decided to search for another job. This example demonstrates that governments do not appreciate teachers as much as they deserve to be.

To sum up, I firmly believe that teachers are less appreciated today because their value and place in the society have been affected by the technology and social media and the low salary they get from the governments.