Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students spend a lot of time in school with their teachers, even more than they spend with their parents. Because they are in a very critical stage of their life, and their personality is going to shape during this period, teachers can significantly affect students’ future. They see their teacher as a role model and learn a lot from them. Because teachers play this vital role in children’s lives, society always respects them and values their efforts. Although some people may believe teachers were more respected in the past, I think they are more praised today than before. I believe in that for two reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First, as time goes, the value of science increased. People learn to cherish science and people who teach it to others. They say today that knowledge is power, and teachers are powerful because of this knowledge. In the past, most people would not enter university. They attended work after they gained a little knowledge. They left the school and didn’t need their teacher’s help anymore. But today, things have changed. Most people want to enter universities to become experts. For example, if you want to enter college, you need a recommendation letter from your teacher. You have to respect them and be a good student to receive a recommendation letter. It is obvious that teachers have more power than before, so they are more respected than in the past.

Furthermore, they are doing a more challenging job than before, so they deserve more respect. These days teachers teach not only science, but also social and life skills, plus they help students have good morals. They prepare students for the future. Years ago, it was not crucial for teachers whether students could live life or not. They just taught their field and left the class; if the students weren’t good enough, they would punish them. But today, teachers care about students’ feelings, abilities, and talents. I remember a kid from high school who was always alone. He could not communicate with others. My teacher created a fun team game to help him. She made him join a group to play and taught him how to socialize with others. She greatly impacted his future and saved him from loneliness.

In conclusion, teachers are more appreciated today than before because they perform a more complex tasks, and society values science more than ever.