Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Invention of the TV was one of the biggest innovations of the 20th century, if not of the entire history of the technologies. It not only changed the total entertainment segment, it also developed the cinematic world and the created the new way of getting information. Even though television has undoubtable benefits, some people claim, that the television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Obviously, this opinion has its point. However, I personally disagree with this statement for the reasons I will try to explain in the following essay.

First of all, television is giving a lot of information and topics, that people discuss in their daily basis. TV shows, political debates, news, talk shows and plenty other programs that we talk about every day, and without which our communication would be shorter or colorless. For instance, year ago the channel HBO has realized the last season of the famous tv show game of thrones. People all over the world were debating about the end of the world’s most popular series. Even me and my family members would go to the café and watch new episodes together, and after that we would spend hours talking about the plot twists and moves made by the director.

The second reason, is that the television is just an another way of entertainment, which existed centuries before the invention of the TV. People had books, theater, art and sports, which was another way to isolate the person from the social world and reduce communication with family members or friends. The only way person could look at the routine of the person, who was living in the 19th century or earlier are books. By reading them I saw that even before tv , women would spend their time by creating new clothes or cooking, and men would learn the art of the war.

In a nutshell, I think that even though television has its disadvantages, it has nothing to do with the communication between friends and family.