Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

"A person should never make an important decision alone."

Decision making is a very important part of one’s life. Life is not a bed of rose. Therefore, different hurdles, ups, and downs come into our life and at that time we may arrive in front of two different paths. Choosing the right path will obviously be very much rewarding and moving towards a wrong path can ruin our life. A good decision in time of higher education or job can change our life forever. We must take suggestions from our elders or those who have already gone for a similar kind of path. It will facilitate us to take good decision. That’s why I believe a person should take help from others before taking an important decision.

We may land into some situations in our life where both the options have some very strong pros. We may face a difficult time to pick one among them. Opinions and suggestions from experienced person come handy at that time. For example, when I passed my higher secondary exam, I had two options to continue my higher education. The first, option was taking admission in a very reputed university where I can continue my study with Agricultural Engineering as a major. Agriculture is one of my favorite subjects and I have a passion for studying agriculture and improving farmer’s income, lifestyle for a long time. On the other hand, I had an option to take admission in a teacher’s training college and continue my studies with Biology as a major. This course provides a better job security in the future as students graduating from this college can easily secure a job as a teacher. I was in a great dilemma at that time. Ultimately, my father encouraged me to go with my passion and now I am highly satisfied with my studies.

Sometimes, if someone is in a very higher managerial or administrative position, he must take several important decisions. These decisions also decide the fate of the whole company and other employees. A wrong decision can ruin everyone’s life. At this point, he must take advice from other board members or some major inputs from other employees. This will slow down the decision-making process and help him to take a more predictable and good decision. For example, some decades ago, jute mills were very famous in my state. It used to produce tons of jute, jute bags and other products. A few years ago, the state government passed a very bad law which was brainchild of one of the minister. This law had a very bad impact on those mills as it was restricting jute production. Many mills were shut down due to heavy loss and many become unemployed. It was obviously a bad decision and government should have taken some time before passing it.

In conclusion, I can say that a good decision always comes from major inputs of other people like our co-worker, fellow students, and elders. We must brainstorm different ideas and take a reasonable amount of time before landing upon an important decision. Though sometime we may have to take a quick decision, we should do some preliminary research.