Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Knowledge has become one of the most important factor that drives a person to success. Also, there are some arguments on whether universities organize and support the social activities and sports events as equal to the academic lessons and libraries. I think a university is a place to educate people, not to support them as a person and encourage them to socialize. Because the main duty of the university is to encourage people academically, not to make them socialize or help them to be healthy.

To begin with, it is the responsibility of students to keep them healthy, not the universities'. Most university students are capable of their health and social life because most of them are aged above sixteen. Moreover, students have plenty of leisure time to take care of themselves and it is way better to provide them with an information of being healthy to help them to be informed in the future. From my personal experience, I am planning to study abroad when I graduate and all the works come to my responsibility, not others. Because of that, my parents teach me a real-life lesson and share their personal experience about how to being healthy or socialize.

Furthermore, not all students have the same interest that causes a problem for the university to support every student equally. Some people enjoy going to the gym to exercise while others prefer to run only in the morning to keep fit with their size. Also, if the university supports the social events with much money, the students would concentrate more on it that distract them from learning. Maybe some of them change their university in order to get more high-qualified academic knowledge from other universities. I think this situation has many cons for both students and the university.

All in all, in my opinion, the disadvantages of the financial support on the sports and social events just like the academic once outweigh the pros of it. I believe that it is enough for students to learn about their major deeply throughout the years they learn in a university.