Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The neighborhood we live in is a very important part of our lives. It is where we spend most of our time and many years of our life. If a movie theater were going to be built in my neighborhood, some residents I’m sure would believe that it is a great idea; others would disagree. In my view, a movie theater would be a positive addition for two important reasons.

The main reason is that the addition will generate jobs In order to build the theater, construction workers will be needed, architects, engineers, and many other people. This means that many people will have the opportunity to work. For example, in Knee city, my hometown, a new theater was built on our busiest street, Main Street. Before the theater was built, there was just open land. As the theater was being constructed, there were advertisements in the paper asking for construction workers. Many people applied and a few were able to work for the company. After its construction, the ads didn’t stop since they started looking for dozens of employees to run the theater. As you can see, these people wouldn’t have had the opportunity to work if it weren’t for the addition of the movie theater.

Another reason is that a new movie theater will add tax revenue for the city. Many people who might have stayed home to relax may decide to go to the theater instead. The money they spend at the theater is taxed. These tax dollars are new to the city and will add more tax revenue to help the city improve itself. For instance, after the theater in my hometown was built, it became very popular. My friends and I spent a lot more time in the area. Normally, we would go to a theater in a city about 15 miles away. After a year or two, we began to notice that our city was spending more money on our schools and streets. Normally, it would work on the streets, fixing potholes, every few years. Now, whenever there was a pothole, the city would fix it within a month. Our local newspaper said this was a result of the added tax revenue new businesses like the movie theater were adding. This experience taught me that new businesses are very beneficial for cities.

In sum, though some may oppose the plan, a new theater would be a great addition to my hometown or any other city. Not only will the addition generate jobs for residents but also the added tax revenue could help the city provide more for its residents. Every city should work to introduce businesses such as movie theaters into their community.