Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

family:"Times New Roman",serif;mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi; mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">it goes without saying that all parents have a lot of concerns for their children to have a prosperous life in future. however, recently there has been an active controversy among many people over the very notion that whether in which time children were more dependent to their parents for making decision about their own life, in the past or today. although it is hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I personally adhere to the fact that in the past fathers and mothers played a crucial role in children's decision making. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on this issue.

family:"Times New Roman",serif;mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi; mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">To start with, it is incontrovertibly axiomatic that over several centuries the family was of the paramount importance in societies. In other words, the foremost base in every community was the family. Hence, a family had the function of a government in small scale. As a result a children should obey all the commands that they get from parents. Because, it was their parents who provide them with all the necessities of life. An example can drive this notion home He had the dream to become an engineer, their parents however needed a labor force for their farm as they gained the revenue from agriculture. My grandfather had to leave away his hopes and desires in order to give a hand to his family.

family:"Times New Roman",serif;mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi; mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">On the other hand, in today’s modern world where we live, not only are children supported by the special policies of the governments to continue their education in their field of interest, but also they will have access to all the opportunities to find a rewarding job and follow their dreams. having not any dependency to their family, juvenile are not under the pressure to obey their parents orders and wishes. Moreover, nowadays, children possess more independency due to they soon access to all sorts of media which make them acquainted with the other children’s life condition all around the word. Watching other children have some freedom they do not, they become eager to achieve all these sorts of liberties. they do all their efforts to make their personal decision deliberately, without any interference by their parents.

family:"Times New Roman",serif;mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi; mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">Drawing upon the aforementioned reasons, although what I mentioned above might not be generalizable to the whole context; there are always some exceptions excluded from the general rule, I do believe that children in today’s world have more freedom in decision making comparing to children in past centuries. Not only do people in the past have to obey their parents due to their economic dependency, but also youngsters, today have more independency and more information about their right for make personal decisions by their own.