Do you agree or disagree the following statement:

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Because of their lack of experience, sometimes young people need wisdom from the elder generation to make decisions in their lives. Although it is common for young people both in the past and nowadays, I do think young people in the past depend too much on their parents, especially in China. Here “too much” is so vague that we can not find a precise definition that to what degree the dependency can count as “too much”. However, if a young man depends on their parents to help them make decisions that will shape his life, he depends on his parents too much. Decisions about one’s career and marriage are such ones. In ancient China, young people usually follow their parents’ instructions about what to do and who to marry in their lives. In contrast, this phenomenon is quite rare in today’s society.

In ancient China, young people do not choose their own wives or husbands. When they are teenagers, young people have little chance to get close to the other gender. Then at a proper age, it is the parents who decide their children’s spouse from another family which is equivalent to them in fortune, social status and so forth. Those young people tend to follow their parents’ decisions with no complaint. In contrast, this kind of marriage is rare in today’s China. Nowadays, young people can freely fall in love with someone with same interest, attitudes towards life or so on. When they decide to get married, it is out of their own choice instead of the parents’ decision.

In addition to marriage, young people in ancient time can not freely choose their career either. Cases were usually like this, either the young man inherit his father’s occupation or pass the national test held by the government to become an administrative officer. If the family can afford the cost of education, the young man will be sent to a school with the expectation that he may become a government officer to honor the whole family. Otherwise, he may have to inherit his father’s occupation to become a farmer, a shoemaker, a businessman, etc. Young people tend to accept their parents’ decision in choosing their career. While things are totally different nowadays. Before entering a university, young people can choose their own major based on their own interest and talent to make preliminary preparation for their future career. Parents’ decisions may have influence in their choices but are not decisive any more.

In light of those contrasts, I think we can reasonably conclude that today’s young people are much less reliant on parents then their peers in the past.