Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Young people's life today is drastically different from that in the past. Among the disparities is their independence when making choice. While young people used to listen and do everything according to their parents' arrangements, the modern ones usually decide on their own. This trend happens because of the following reasons.

First of all, the culture of unquestioningly obeying to the elders has faded over years. It was an established norm in the old times that the younger must do whatever they are told by the elderly, ranging from schools, occupation to marriage. However, young adults at present do not follow parents' plan for them automatically. For example, when my grandparents were in their twenties, they were forced get married with ones designated by their seniors and had to follow the career path which had already set out for them. The social standard at the time prevented them from acting differently, otherwise they would have been criticised by the public. Nevertheless, the young in today's world are free to make their own decisions. Their marriage is usually based on love and choices of college and major as well as job position and specialty is based on their interest. Their thinkings are more listened and respected by their parents. All in all, social culture now is more open and accepted to the young people's autonomy

In addition, young adults nowadays are more well-equipped with information to be able to choose wisely. In the past, people did not have much chance to be exposed to the world, hence lacked experience and were relatively innocent. As a result, that parents, who were more experienced, determined everything for them was a better option for them to lead an easy life. Meanwhile, young people recently have learned a lot about the world. The advent of Internet has provided them with easy access to a huge source of knowledge. Efficient transportation system and the globalization trend has allowed them to travel and experience more since they were kids or teens. Therefore, adolescents are much more competent of reaching a sensible decision themselves than those in the past. Furthermore, since the elders also recognize this, they confide more in their children as well as their rational choices.

In conclusion, young people these days are more independent when making decisions about their lives than their counterparts in the past. In my opinion, while it is important to independently settle things themselves, young people should still listen to precious advice from their parents to be able to make the best choice.