Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are important for the transmission of knowledge, from the past to nowadays. When it comes to the appreciation of them by the society, I disagree with the statement that they are less valued in the current and will clarify my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, teachers receive better payment in the modern society than their counterparts did in the past overall. The material reward people get from doing their job is a significant index of the importance a society attaches to their professions. As common sense tells us, the more you get paid, the higher your value is appreciated. Nowadays, the payment of teachers is relatively better than they did decades ago. For example, my parents, both teachers, tell me that their monthly income was around ten yuan or so when they started the career. Back then they have to save money for months to buy a bike. While the situation now is totally different, they earn around ten thousand yuan a month, which is a decent payment in China comparing to most professions. As is shown from the increase of teachers' salary, they are more valued by the society now than they did in the past.

Moreover, the society is paying more attention to the career development of teachers.

Admittedly, some people may argue that students in the ancient time show better manner to teachers. For example, they kneel down to the teachers. Thus the past society respects teachers more. This view falsely reduces the express of respect to the action of kneeling down while ignores the good manner of students nowadays such as greeting to and helping teachers. So this opinion is not sufficiently supported.

To put it in a nutshell, as we can see from the evidence provided above, it is no doubt that teachers nowadays are much highly appreciated and valued than they did before, in terms of material and spirit.