Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past, being a teacher is a dream career because it has lots of benefits. However, choosing a teacher as a job is a choice a few people want to make nowadays. Therefore, I agree that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays for the following reasons.

First, teachers used to have powers to teach students in their own ways. For example, in my parents' ages, their teachers will punish them in an appropriate way to let them learn lessons when they made mistakes. However, in my direction, teachers no longer can do that due to an abundant of regulations prevent them from punishing students. Moreover, without punishing, students seldom learn to listen to teachers, making parents concern about the efficient of teachers. In the past, teachers have more power and greater reputation.

Second, the birth rate keeps decreasing years by years. Without students, teachers become useless. By the supply more than demand, the pay for teachers starts to decrease, and the needs of them as well. Therefore, society is not as valued them as the past. For example, my favorite teacher who taught me in elementary school has retired few years ago. She told me that it is because there are little students but too many teachers nowadays. The school has to make her leave due to her age otherwise other young teachers would not have their seats in the office. It is totally unfair but none of us could change the decision by the school.

Last but not least, in the past, education is the only way to succeed. However, we define "success" in multiple ways nowadays. Take my cousin Jeff for instance. Jeff loves to paint when he is a high school student, and my aunt thought it is optimal that letting Jeff to choose whether he wants to go to school or not. As a result, Jeff takes three sick leaves a week during the last year in his high school. To my aunt, the success of Jeff is not only limited in learning from teachers or be educated as schools. Thus, the situation makes teachers' status lower nowadays than before.

As the reasons I mentioned above, I agree that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.