Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Having good friends is one of the most important assets in life. Some people believe that it is better that we have a small number of people over a long period as our friends. Others, on the contrary, hold the position that making many new friends readily is more important. I, personally, am inclined to the latter idea. In the following paragraphs, I explain my reasons to clarify my viewpoint.

The first reason coming to my mind is that we are not going to be near our friends all the time. Maybe some circumstances occur that people force to be far away from their friends. In this case, if someone does not have the talent to make new friends, he will be alone and this loneliness might cause depression for him. For example, I had a friend in high school and we were very intimate. Always we were with each other and had a lot of fun together. His father was in the army and because of his work they went to another city. He could not interact with new people and was very shy. Some weeks later, when I talked to him, he was so depressed and sad and declared that he is so alone because he could not communicate with new people easily.

Another reason which deserves some word here is that by having the ability to being friend with new people, we can meet a lot of new adventures and experiences. Every people have some specific traits and characteristics which make them unique from others. If people have a limited circle of friends, he will meet with a few mindsets and ideas. Conversely, new ideas will lead people to experience new situations and increase the joy in life. For example, I had three roommates in the dorm and we always did some repetitive activities for our entertainment. Every weekend went to the cinema and came back to the dorm and none of us could make a new friend or bring another person into the group; the group was so boring for me. Nevertheless, the next semester, we had a new roommate who had a lot of innovative ideas. Consequently, we had much fun together and it was just for having met new people and getting friend with him.

To sum up, based on the aforementioned paragraphs, one of the most helpful traits of people is that who can make new friends easily. In this way, one can not be afraid of losing his old friend and will be happier.