Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friends are gifts given to humanity in order to have a joyful life. Truth be told, whether you should have a lot of new friends to be happy or not has generated a lot of controversy lately. Some people are the leading proponents of the belief that you should make new friends rapidly in order to maintain your happines. However, I assert that having a few friends over a long time boosts your morale and happiness. In the following paragraphs I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

First and foremost, older friends are the ones who come in handy when you are in need. Since life is full of predicaments, we opt for helpful friends who can give us the support we need when we are in trouble. As time passes by, relationships become stronger, and connections become sturdy. In addition, the less connections you have, the stronger each one become. Consequently, only by having a firm connection with your friend, can you expect him to put so much effort into helping you in your hardships. For instance, when I was in a high depth few of years ago, none of my friends lent my any money exept for my longtime friend from elementary school, whom has been there for me for almost twenty years. When you have such good friends in your life on whom you can count, you live a happy and pleasurable life.

Moreover, another conspicuous aspect of having a little number of longtime friends, is that you get to know each of them better. You can determine whether each friend is reliable or not. Having a lot of friends, on the other hand, leads to difficulties in recognizing all of their characteristics. Therefore, it is hard to trust your friends, when you have lots of them.

Furthermore, as people grow older, trust becomes a crucial factor in their relationships. When you have a lot of friends you cannot trust them, neither can you expect them to trust you. Because, they may contemplate your maintaining numerous superficial relationships. Therefore, they will not be able to find you a trustable person. Having a network of trusted relationships leads to a more enjoyable life.

Admittedly, not to mention the remarkable effects of hectic life in our friendships would be an oversight. Today's life has become mechanical and exceedingly competitive. Only by working countless hours, can people satisfy their family's needs. As a result, people barely have time to spend with their friends. This problem intensifies when you have lots of friends. It is hard to become selective, and devote attention only to a restricted number of friends, because other friends may become reluctant to retain their relationship with you, leaving you with the limited number of friends. That is, it is better to always have a limited number of friends, rather than having a lot of friends for a short period of time and losing some of them. That losing friends brings about unhappiness is a known fact.

All in all, having limited number of friends over a long time is better than having a great number of friends with shallow relashionships, since you can trust them and rely on your old friends. Also it is more likely to lose some of your friends in today's bustly and hectic life, thus, it is better to avoid this by having a few friends.