Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more

effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

when it comes to study habit, we all have different preferences, some people like to study by themselves, others prefer to study in a group. Sometimes teachers may assign projects and require students to work together as a team, some people dispute that such method will be less effective than carrying out those tasks by themselves, some think this as a good way to achieve higher efficiency.

In my opinion, I think studying in a group for assignments like projects is more effectively. Admittedly, studying by oneself has its own advantages, such as more flexibility on making study plan, choosing location and easier to control one's own pace and get concentrated. But when it comes to carrying out projects, studying in a group has a few unbeatable advantages.

First, studying as a team to work on projects saves time for everybody. By breaking down the whole project into different phases and allocate small tasks to different subgroups or individuals, the team can finish larger task in much shorter time, especially when comparing with each student to carry out all those tasks one by one by themselves. For example, when I was in college, my economics teacher gave us an assignment to do a field survey of startup companies founded by college students throughout the city. In order to finish the survey, we needed to find and interview a certain number of startup business owners, I and a few classmates decided to form a group, and we made plan and requested everyone to find and interview 2 business owners in a given area of the city, in the end we were able to interview and collect data from larger scale of interviewees. Without a doubt with such a huge project it would take forever for an individual student to finish on their own.

Second, studying in a group can give everyone more chances to learn new knowledge. Still in the example of my field survey for startup companies, as members of my study group were all from different departments, some were majored in Journalism as myself, some majored in Social work, some economics, when we sit down discuss about the project, we found everyone from different background with different knowledge set were presenting opinions from very different angles, and that helped everyone to gain comprehensive understanding of the project, such learning experience can therefore be in no way achieved by studying by oneself.

Last, studying together also helps to clear out barriers or problems faster, through group discussion, we can work through problems much sooner as even if one student isn't able to solve the puzzle, others might have already worked through that question, thus they will be able to offer guidance based on their own experience.

In conclusion, I think when carrying out assignment like projects, it is more effective to study together other than study by ourselves.