Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The debate on whether working in a group is less effective than working alone has garnered a range of views. Nowadays, many are adamant that a myriad of elements should be taken into consideration to check the constructive and destructive facets of the issue. Some people posit that working in a group's cons outweigh its pros. On the other hand, some others take the opposite side and disagree. From my vantage point, I agree with the former group and aver that students should always work alone to learn more effectively. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

The first exquisite point to be considered is the unequal participation in a group. Some students may work hard on a project while others do not work at all. This inequality in the work done could cause trouble between people in a single group. For that reason sometimes working in a group may seem less productive than working alone. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. In the last year of university, I worked in a group to do my graduation project. we were four people working in that project but in reality, two members did all the work. As a consequence of this behavior, there were many troubles between the group members.

Secondly, another example that deserves some words to say is that working in a group is a time-consuming process. Working in a group needs agreement and coördination from all members of the team; therefore decision-making process in a team usually takes a lot of time. A vivid example that can shed light on the subject is one from my experience. In the same project mentioned before, Although we were four people working on one project, it took from us three months to complete it, unfortunately, the project had poor quality and none of the group members learned something valuable.

To wrap it up, contemplating all aforesaid, one can soon realize that working alone sometimes is more practical and constructive than working in a team.