Do you agree or disagree with the following statement.

Young people enjoy life more than older people do.

Give suitable reasons and examples to support your answer.

I do not agree with the statement “young people enjoy life more than older people do”. In my opinion, the ability to enjoy life depends on a person’s state of mind and not his age. In this essay, I will elaborate on this topic.

Firstly, the ability to have fun may not always correlate with age. Many elders enjoy their life more than the youth around them. Since they lived in a period when cameras and smartphones were uncommon, older people like to ‘live in the moment’ and capture the moment in their memory rather than in their phones or cameras. The picture of an old woman standing in the front row to watch a parade is one of the best evidence to support this statement. In the picture, the old woman was watching the parade with a smile on her face while everyone around her was pushing each other to get the ‘perfect shot’ of the parade. In the end, she enjoyed the procession while others around her wasted their time trying to capture it on their phones.

Secondly, older people have more experience and know how to appreciate small things in life. Even though there are young people who know how to appreciate what they have, many youngsters take things for granted. The older people know that not all things last forever and try to enjoy them as long as they can.

Thirdly, older people have the resources to spend on things they enjoy. Even though money does not guarantee happiness, it does allow a person to acquire things that he enjoys. For instance, many people dream of travelling around the world to experience the world, but neither have the time nor money to fulfil this dream. Older people, however, have the time and the savings to travel the world. Even though they do not have the same level of energy as the youth, they are able to fulfil their dream to travel, while the young people continue dreaming.

In conclusion, age does not define a person’s ability to enjoy his life.