Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solutions than if they were to try to solve the problem individually. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement “when people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solutions than if they were to try to solve the problem individually”. In my opinion, solving a problem requires multiple skills and opinions and therefore working in a group will prove helpful. I shall give a personal experience to elaborate on my claim.

In 11th grade, we were given an assignment to create a radio show, which had to include an original story. We were given the choice to make the show independently or in a group. I decided to work with my friends in a group. We all knew each other’s strengths and were able to decide the work accordingly. With a few hours of brain storming, we were able to come up with a story. While recording the show we were helping each other whenever we forgot the lines. We could make the show better by coming up different ideas for the sound effects. We could finish the radio in a short duration and then had a lot of time to edit and make improvements.

Working in a group can provide an environment where everyone can put forward their problems and ideas and discuss with other members to come up with the best outcome. In the above instance, we had come up with a number of ideas for the original story but finalised the one which we all agreed was workable. In other cases, like NASA or even the government, all the possible projects and ideas are put forth. They discuss the inputs before taking the final decision.

Group work is also simpler in some ways as the members know each other’s strengths and weaknesses and can therefore divide the work accordingly. While making the project, we had divided the responsibilities in such a way that each one was comfortable doing their part. I was responsible to make the script and edit and combine the recordings, while my friend had taken to collecting and adding the sound effects in the show.

Finally, many complex problems can only be solved if people collaborate and work towards the solution. In a company, for instance, the sales are going down. The company will then have to get the sales department together to find the root cause of the decrease in sales, the advertising and marketing department will have to come up with more unique marketing strategies and the production will have become more efficient and of superior quality.

At the same time, I cannot call my opinion as absolute, In groups, people may be competitive and want their ideas to be executed or want to be the superior authority. In these cases there can be loss of valuable ideas and time as there will be constant clashes between the teammates. Therefore, in cases when a person has enough knowledge to solve the problem effectively, they may take to working alone,

In conclusion, group work is the desirable method when the problem requires diverse perspectives and skill sets. Working in a group, people can complete the tasks faster and with respectable results.