Do you agree or disagree with the following statement-

”television advertising directed towards young children (2-5 year olds) should not be allowed”

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The television advertisements should not be directed towards the younger audience. In this passage I will discuss about the negative impacts which these advertisements may have on their younger audience. However, I admit that this is not the absolute statement, many times television advertisement do prove useful for the children.

The first negative impact of these advertisements is the stubbornness and the tantrums. Everyone in their life would have seen a child crying and screaming because his/her parents refuse to buy them the latest game or any good. The ads which show children enjoying a certain game, candy or a good, makes the younger audience crave for the product. This craving then leads to the child pestering his/her parents to buy the good without fully understanding the money value and affordability of the product. Not having the desired good becomes a source of anxiety and anguish for the child and a source of unhappiness for the parents.

The second unfortunate consequence of these advertisements is child’s addiction to the good. The collectable items like Pokémon cards, action hero cards or even hot wheels car collections make the kids go crazy. The kids try to complete their collections as much as they can without thinking of the amount of money they’re spending. Moreover the company continuously releases new collections and cards for profit. The craziness over these collectables slowly becomes an addiction and the kids spend a lot of time and money over it with no tangible benefits.

The third impact is that the advertisements, especially the ones which show action stunts and other dangerous activities to attract customers, can put the child’s life in danger. Seeing the child actors in the ads doing car stunts or saving civilians in some game ads can influence the child audience on thinking that they can also do it. The children, with their limited understanding about these stunts, think that the content was real. This can put the child in risky conditions as they will try to imitate the stunts.

However, we also have seen many advertisements which aim at the younger audience and try to have a good impact on them. Some advertisements of Dettol, Colgate and other brands also try to impart knowledge about personal hygiene, assisting others and other good qualities.

In conclusion, advertisements do have many negative consequences for the younger audience but these negatives cannot completely over rule the positives. If the company’s pay attention to the social impact of their advertisements and try to sensitize them, then these ads can be deemed to have positive influence on children.