Some people like to only what they already do well. Other people prefer to try new things and take risks. Which one do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Some people prefer to play safe and continue doing what they are good at, while other leave their comfort zone to try new things. In my opinion, trying new things is a better decision. In this essay, I will elaborate on my opinion by giving few benefits of trying new things.

Firstly, trying new things can help a person overcome his fears. Trying a new thing pushes a person out of his comfort zone, which makes the person feel uncomfortable and scared. However, after experiencing the ‘new thing’ the person realizes that fear is just a small obstacle in his journey to experience something new. This knowledge then encourages him to try other things. To support this point, I will cite the chapter from my English textbook, ‘The Deep Waters’ by William Douglas. In the chapter, Douglas described his journey of overcoming his fear of water. After overcoming his fear, he used his fear to motivate himself to go further. In the end, he only quoted Roosevelt, ‘only thing we have to fear is the fear itself’. Therefore, overcoming his fear not only allowed Douglas to to go swimming without feeling sick, it also gave him courage to try other things in life.

Secondly, trying new things can help a person get to know himself better. It can help him find his strengths, weaknesses and motivations. Trying new things can assist a person to find or stimulate his creative side. This creativity can then be utilized in other fields. Learning about himself can help a person decide what they want to do in life, which may prove beneficial in the future.

Thirdly, it can keep a person from getting bored. Even the most routine-loving person can sometimes get tired of following the same schedule every day. So trying something new can give a much-needed break from the same old routine. Trying new things can also help a person release all the pent-up emotions. Following the same routine everyday can cause make a person frustrated and angry. These emotions if not released from time to time can cause outbursts. Therefore, it is crucial for a person to release these emotions. What can be a better way to do this than exploring new things?

In the end, I believe trying new things is equivalent to self-improvement. It pushes us to become better individuals and attain our full potential. Therefore, it is crucial that we try new new things and experience everything.