Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “Movies and television strongly influence the way people behave?” Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement “movies and television strongly influence the way people behave”. In this essay, I shall discus my views in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, movies and television influences the actions of people. For instance, people who watch action movies tend to be more aggressive and feel the need to take fight or tend to violence in order to get out of a situation. Once, a man caused shot up a concert in Las Vegas. The only explanation he gave for his actions was that he saw it in a movie. Additionally, movies such as the Fast and Furious franchise inspires teenagers to drive recklessly, which has led to many accidents. Additionally, the release Tokyo Drift had caused an increase in illegal drag races around the world.

Secondly, movies and television shows give false expectations to the viewers about life. Many movies targeted at the teenage audience show the college life being all about parties, making hundreds of friends and just having fun in general. They exclude the part where the actually attend the classes, study and give exams. These movies make the teenagers believe that they will have the best time of their lives at college and will be able to pass with flying colours without studying a page. The teenagers, who take the movies seriously, then feel demotivated when they see the reality of college. They have study day and night to finish their assignments and do not have time to sleep, let alone party.

However, movies can also have a good impact on a person. It can teach them to be kind, learn from their mistakes and grow as a person. When a child sees their favourite actor doing something good, he will also try to be like his role model. For instance, an 11-year-old boy saved his brother from drowning by performing CPR. When asked how he learnt it, he replied that he saw ‘The Rock’ do it in the movie San Andreas.

In conclusion, movies and television have as impact on how people behave, however, how the movie enthusiast learn from them is up to the person.