Do you agree or disagree that progress is always for good? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have been arguing a lot regarding whether or not progress is always for better. Some of as are certain that developments have negative consequences when others hold the completely opposite opinion. Personally, I think that progress is advantageous for human beings. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, progress in medicine has helped people maintain their health and live longer lives. A couple of centuries ago, millions of people died from infections. However, these days we have groups of drugs called antibiotics that are able to successfully cure infectious diseases. Not only that, but highly developed vaccines let us prevent life-threatening illnesses. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was about eight years old, I came down with a dangerous and highly contagious disease called pneumonia. Fortunately, at that time, antibiotics were already available to cure the illness. As a result, with the help of the modern medications, I recovered quickly and was vaccinated from pneumonia in a local hospital. Although some individuals complain that contemporary drugs are expensive, they help us to fight dangerous infections and stay alive. That is why I think that developments in medicine have always more prons than flaws.

Secondly, technological progress has helped people to make their dreams come true and enjoy their lives. Highly developed vehicles let us voyage and explore new places and cultures. When people travel, they learn something new, which makes their lives fascinating and enjoyable. For instance, I am passionate about traveling, and every summer I take a trip to a new place. I prefer voyaging by car because it is not as costly as flying by aircraft, and because my personal vehicle is equipped with GPS system for effective navigation, with air-conditioner to maintain the pleasant environment inside the car, and with a radio to listen to my favorite music. All these technological features make my driving truly comfortable. If not for owning such as a progressive car, I would not be able to visit a myriad of destinations. Despite the opinion that cars pollute the environment, they bring us a lot of pleasure and happiness.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that advancements are always beneficial. This is because developments increased our quality of life by providing us with effective drugs, and tools to enjoy our lives.