Do you agree or disagree with the statement: Professors should prohibit the use of devices that can connect to the internet in class.

The creation of electronic devices such as tablets and smartphones has had an enormous impact on people's lives. Whether they can be used in college classes has stirred some controversy among educators and students. Some say that electronic gadgets enrich class experience, which others believe otherwise. As far as I’m concerned, devices with internet connection should be banned in college class, which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To start with, devices with internet access can become a big distraction for students. Needless to say, internet is loaded with all of information, like breaking news about North Korea, gossips about some celebrity, the release of a new album by some pop singer. By just a tap on the screen, students can gain access to all of these news and thus get distracted by it. Students are supposed to be concentrated on what the professor is talking about, acquiring the knowledge the professor is trying to explain. With electronic devices providing all types of unrelated information, it is difficult for students to pay any attention to the professor. On the other hand, some people may claim that college students are adults and therefore have the self-discipline needed to resist the temptation. They ignore the fact that most college students are still developing their character at college. So the majority of college students are still in need of outside force to help them learn about rules and discipline. Thus, it is reasonable to believe that electronic devices that can link to the internet should be prohibited in class.

On top of that, the absence of internet-connecting devices in class makes a more enjoyable and effective learning environment. Many students use messaging applications like whatsup on their tablets or smartphones to talk to their friends in class. But incoming message often comes with a notification ring. Not all students remember to switch their gadgets to silent mode. So when a new message comes in, the ring may surprise every student and the professor and disturb the course of a lecture. Moreover, it is not uncommon to see a video like this on youtube. Some student opened his laptop in a class and the sound of some moaning from some porn shocked everyone. By removing such devices, everyone, including professors, can have a comfortable learning environment and improve their academic performance in an effective way. Considering the likely disturbance which devices with internet access may bring, it is better to ban devices that can get online in class.

In conclusion, electronic devices which can get access to internet should be banned in college class because it may distract students from studying and the lack of it brings a better learning atmosphere.