Do you agree or disagrees with the following statement?

it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

In this era of unemployment, people do try to attain many masters degrees as possible. is it due to the lack or experience or educational qualification that the people do not have jobs?. A real question yet to answer. Consequently, many believe that having sound knowledge in numerous subjects will be beneficial for them in future. I however, strongly oppose this and is convinced that having expertise in one specific area is the best choice due to the following reasons.

Firstly, focussing on a single field of study is easy and less time consuming. For instance, if a student is interested to become a software engineer, he can earn a bachelor's degree in computer science. The degree that he earns will enable him to procure an internship in a well reputed company which eventually will help in his future career progress. Likewise, he can concentrate on his area of engineering during his whole academic year without any unnecessary distraction. Hence, it is better to learn one degree at a time.

Secondly, human mind cannot absorb a lot of information at a time. If a person try to learn a variety of subjects, he will not be able to concentrate on any of them. For example, a doctor needs to have a medical degree simultaneously if he attains literature and computer science degrees together it might not be useful for him. Additionally, it would be a waste of time, money and resources. Nevertheless, to say he will not be an expert in his field of study. Therefore, I would suggest that it is always better to have a degree that interests you instead of gaining many degrees.

To reiterate, it is always better to earn a degree rather than learning more than one subjects since it will be burdensome for the student in his life. It would be difficult for him to focus on which field of study to go further in his career life too. Moreover, it will be an expensive and time consuming process.