Drivers should pay an additional fee for driving where there is the greatest amount of traffic.

In modern society, congestion is main problem of citizen. Most of governments have trouble to solve this problem without controversy about additional fee. Some people believe that driver should pay extra charge for driving in a huge amount of traffic. In contrast, other people say that charging extra money is unnecessary. In my opinion, I agree with the former statement with two reasons.

First, extra charge may decrease the traffic jam in certain area. Charging money could be controversial solution for congestion; however, there is no doubt that extra charging is most effective way to distribute traffics. Most people more likely to use normal roads instead of highways due to financial burden. To be specific, additional fee for driving in a crowded area can divide people into other paths. For example, there is a bridge between Gangseo-gu and Saha-gu in Busan which is always crowded by many cars. However, the city decided to distribute the cars with charging additional fee. Although taking bridge helps people to drive fast and comfortable, there are only few who take the bridge in result of expensive fee. This reveals an effect of additional fee for the distribution.

Second, there are positive side effect of additional payment. Most tax money is used for citizen as reinvestment in many forms. A vast amount of money is needed for repairing and maintaining the infrastructure, including roads. Extra charges of using specific roads may come back to people as a benefit for them. Which means that people can get more well-managed roads as they pay more money to the governments. Therefore, it is not excessive collect of money at all. Returning benefits from governments will make people more comfortable. For example, there are ‘high-pass’ in Korea, remote toll gate systems which helps people to pass tollgates faster without traffic jam. At first, it seems expensive and useless that makes people buy a specific machine for remote paying. However, the Government helped people to get their machines by giving financial aids from toll fees they paid. Hence, they even lowered the fee to stimulate peoples’ experience. As time goes by, with understanding and participation of people, the ‘high-pass’ now provides one – third level of traffic jam at most toll gates around the country.

In conclusion, extra fee of traffic area makes people not only feel comfortable with car distribution but also get benefits from reinvestments of governments. Therefore, I insist that the government should charge additional fee to drivers who drive in most traffic areas.