face to face communication versus other types of communication

Many people think that letters, emails and text messages are the best way to communicate with others. They say we live a fast-paced age, we don’t have time for face to face communications which consumes a lot of our precious time. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. I believe there is nothing better than face to face communication. It enhances relationships, and decrease misunderstanding.

First of all, the major factor in any relationship is communication. Communications can be done through multiple routes, it can be written through emails, mails or text messages, or it can be oral through phone calls or meetings. Meetings or face to face communications plays important role in enhancing any relationship even if it is on business scale. There is a quote says “If you still have a friend who calls you often in this electronic world we live in, you must do your best to keep your relationship with this friend”. I believe this quote simply indicates the importance of the oral communication because the friend who sacrifices his/her time to call or meet his/her friend in person, means he/she cares about this friendship. Also at work when I communicate with a customer through face to face, I strength my relation with this customer which helps him/her to become a loyal customer of my company. There is no improvement in our human relationships without keeping our face to face communication.

Second, in our daily communications we express our emotions and words orally in various tones. Every tone carries a different meaning. Although we use now Emojis in our emails and text messages, still we find it hard to express our words real meaning through written communication. I experienced this issue a couple weeks ago, I sent an email to a coworker asking about an illustration of something happened. I got a response back from the coworker trying to illustrate the whole situation, but really there were missing emotions in this subject to show more details of what happened. As a result, I sent an email back to her asking for more clarifications, the other coworker replied to me. It wasn’t yet so clear, so I decided to call her, once I called her I got everything clear because I heard her voice and her intonation in our conversation. I heard words carrying emotions and expression. I believe it would be even better if I was able to meet her face to face. In my opinion, we can avoid a lot of miscommunication if we returned to use face to face communications more frequently.

In conclusion for the reasons mentioned above, I encourage each person to consider face to face communication as a primary way of communication. Why you don’t try to do it for just one week. If you did so, you will discover for yourself how much it easier and faster to understand the other person you communicate with. You will also discover how much you strengthen this relationship and avoid a lot of misunderstanding.