Friends or colleagues sometimes need to have a serious talk about a problem such as misunderstanding. Some people prefer to have these important discussions in a public place. Others prefer to have such talks in more private places or at home. Which do you prefer?

Every relationship sometimes comes to the verge of conflict. Whether it comes to question it is better to solve our arguments in a private or a public place, some people prefer the former one, but I feel it is better to discuss our issues in public places. The following paragraph will illustrate my perspective.

First, the more private place, the less I am in control of my emotions. To clarify, in private places, there is nothing to restrict our negative emotions from being expressed. In such conflict, we experience a roller coaster of emotion and easily become angry, hurting our relationship. On the other hand, being observed by many strangers in a public place, we try to put a curb on our toxic emotions. For example, once, one of my colleagues and I have some financial issues. Since the outside was gale-force winds, we had to stay inside and discuss the subject. As our discussion continued, unfortunately, my anger got better of me, and I started to shout, which made me feel embarrassed; and It was not only we couldn't solve our problem but also worsened our relationship. Had I been in a public place, I would not air out my very intense emotions to him. Therefore, public places are better for discussion as they serve more emotional control to people.

The second reason I would like to bring about is that public places provide people with a better environment, which helps to mitigate tension and stress and suitable to large number of participants. When we go to a public place, we have more options, from a park with many beautiful scenes and fresh air to a coffee shop or restaurant with a piece of light music playing. Public places atmosphere affords peace of mind and gives us opportunity to solve our problems in a calm situation more efficiently, which is not the case with private places. Moreover, private places usually are small, and couldn’t provide enough space for meetings with large number of calleauges.

To wrap it up, I think public places are better for discussions as they give a sense of control over our emotions and provide a calming situation.