Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

In today's turbulent economic situation, government should cautiously decide how to use its limited budget. Some people are in favor of supporting arts, while others believe athletics are more reasonable. It's hard to judge which has more significance. In my perspective, I prefer the first one, for the following reasons:

First of all, governmental funds are regarded as vital to help individuals show more passion in traditional art forms. With the improvement of technology, nowadays people have a tendency to focus on modern art forms such as pop music rather than legacies of our ancestors. If financial assistance arrives, more cultural heritage exhibitions will be held to attract people’s attention. As a consequence, it might regain popularity among the masses.

Furthermore, not only are arts funds help preserve traditional art forms, they are also beneficial to tourism. It should be abundantly clear that investing in arts yields great profits for all parties involved. This phenomenon can be greatly attributed to the fact that quite a few tourists will be appealed to this government-sponsored art projects. In other words, these tourists who are interested in arts will spend a large amount of money on museum, film and other art forms, which eventually increase millions of dollars in state revenue. On the contrary, countries that do not sponsor arts are always the ones that struggle to draw tourists attention.

Last but not least, arts can also represent a nations’ culture and character. For instance, almost everything we recognize about ancient China comes from their architecture, paintings, poetry and so on. The same goes for other countries. If governments want people to remember and respect their nation, they ought to take more significant interest in supporting arts.

In a nutshell, arts bring in traditional protection, national revenue and documents history. Judging from all the above mentioned situations, we may reach the conclusion that governments ought to emphasize arts over athletics.