Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It’s a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration.Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

Some claim that it is one of the government duties to fund space projects. This argument seems reasonable. Nevertheless, I subscribe to the statement that it is a waste of money for the government to fund space projects for the following factors.

Admittedly, it is true that the government's continued funding in space travel or space exploration projects contribute to the development of space science. Throughout history, space science and astronomy have always been pursued by mankind. Nevertheless, merely a limited population are under the influence of the space science. Specifically, in today's turbulent economic situation, governments should cautiously decide how to use its limited budget.

On the other hand, the environmental issues have priority over the space science development. There are plenty of environmental issues that require massive government funds. Today, the most worrying environmental issue is the global warming that has a drastic impact on water supplies, weather pattern, plants, and animal species. To reduce the rate of this inevitable catastrophe, utilization of the renewable energies with a low carbon footprint should be considered necessary. To name only a few, solar and wind energy, as two well known renewable energies, can be employed locally, but the individuals are not willing to pay the high installation costs of the solar panels and wind turbines. Therefore, governments should fund these costs to replace fossil fuel based energies with these low carbon energies. Another significant environmental issue is the garbage problem. Every day landfills become larger and larger devouring our planet. To reduce the rate of this accumulation, governments should allocate a large budget not only to recycle plastics, papers, and glasses but also to embolden people to reuse their garbage which is retained by a majority of people.

Additionally, for the reason that the space science has a limited impact spectrum, it is preferred that aerospace agencies provide their budget with private funding. Today, private funding with its various subsets is welcomed by numerous activities. Aerospace agencies could supply themselves with commercial revenue. For instance, the website of the NASA has a commercial space section introducing its various commercial programs and partners. Besides, since space explorations and travels are such attractive subjects for many of people, these agencies could benefit from crowdfunding being a practice of funding a project by receiving a small amount of money from many crowd. Related organizations could use popular social media like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter to launch a campaign to earn money through crowdfunding. Accordingly, there are lots of other funding sources for these organizations instead of a governmental one.

Needless to say, it does not seem acceptable to allocate a proportion of the limited public budget to such extravagant space explorations and travels due to environmental issues are more significant funding targets for the governments and this attractive industry can easily invite other private funding sources. I strongly subscribe to the statement that if we can not rescue the Earth maybe one day we will have to leave our home and to find another planet to live!