Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many things to consider when thinking about university education due to university education constitutes a most crucial stage in individual’s life. In order to make higher learning more effective, some people propose that university should require all students to take history courses no matter what they are major in. In my perspective, I am in favor of such a motion for the following reasons:

First of all, learning history courses is regarded as vital to broaden the students’ horizon. It should be abundantly clear that students will be more welcome and competitive in all professional areas. This phenomenon can be greatly attributed to the fact that the modern world belongs to talented individuals with broad overall abilities. For instance, by mastering historical knowledge, students are endowed with the opportunity to master the essences of different subjects. On the contrary, the grasp of one subject is far from enough. From this view, preparing with history classes equips students with knowledge that should be master by a normal member of society.

Furthermore, not only is taking history courses pivotal factor in opening the students’ mind up, it’s also beneficial to preserve traditional art forms. With the improvement of technology, nowadays youth have a tendency to focus on modern art forms such as pop music rather than legacies of our ancestors. We can find evidence in Chinese calligraphy. Despite its history of thousands of years, Chinese calligraphy is facing a crisis due to the neglect of younger people. Many art colleges have even cancelled traditional Chinese calligraphy courses. These traditional art forms are more likely to attract students’ attention if more students learn it from history class. As a consequence, it might regain popularity among the masses and be better recognized by university students.

Last but not least, history can also represent a nations’ culture and character. For instance, almost everything that we recognize about ancient China comes from their ancient architecture, paintings, poetry and other historical ingredients. If universities want students to remember and respect their nation, they ought to take more significant interest in supporting history courses.

In a nutshell, learning history classes bring in horizon, traditional protection and nation culture recognition. It helps both individual as well as society as a whole. Judging from all the above mentioned situations, we may reach the conclusion that all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.